One Week Today…

IT’S CRAZY HOT HERE!  THE AIR IS LIKE MY MOM’S SPLIT PEA SOUP!

My husband and I are holed up in our Hamilton Heights apartment, building up the courage to exit the place for a cultural experience at 3 o’clock.  An afternoon of one-act plays co-written by theatre professionals and kids.  Could be interesting, right?  That’s what I thought…plus it’s free!  We like free.  A lot.

So…week one down! We’ve seen a show (Anything Goes-one of my dearest friends was on for Joel Grey…he was BRILLIANT!), HP7, found Trader Joe’s (yay!) and Target, had some great pizza…my industrious husband  has landed a job (and is looking for more…we like options…and a roof over our heads…and food) and I had my first NYC audition.

Don’t get excited…it was pretty anticlimactic.  What it isn’t any longer though, is a mystery, and that was my goal.  I haven’t gotten an agent yet, so it’s all about getting up early and getting yourself on the audition list.  It’s first come, first served til the slots fill up, so you’re up early to stand in line at the Equity Office.  I was there at 7:45, got into the building at 8:30, then signed up for the 12:30 slot. I like to sing later in the day when I’m totally awake.

I filled the hours by standing in line for Anything Goes rush tickets ($30 instead of $155), getting a fax at FedEx Office, and having some coffee/wifi time.  I got back in time to change my clothes, (yes…you generally don’t arrive ready to step in the room…it’s too hot for that!  you bring your swag and get ready there…) I entered the room, the accompanist kind of acknowledged me when I was talking to him about tempo, and the 2 people behind the table listened politely and said thank you when I was done.  There you go!  I’m told this is pretty much the norm at this type of call…et voila! The Equity Principal Audition in all its glory.

I felt good about what I did, so as soon as I walked out, I began letting the experience go.  That is key, my friend.   It’s so easy to overanalyze and obsess, and nothing healthy or positive ever comes from that.  I WILL  avoid that dark, murky, swirling vortex!  I give myself 15 minutes to think about it, take some notes about what I can do better,  then I let that girl go.

Audition #2 tomorrow!

And now, I must go  to the sauna/bathroom and start getting ready for the day.

R

2 responses to “One Week Today…

  1. I can’t wait to see you!!!!!

  2. This is great! I look forward to reading more!
    (P.S. I miss you running to you at the gym for impromptu catch-ups . . . )
    ((hugs))

Leave a Reply

