2 years…

I wed the man of my life 2 years ago today!  Whenever the nasty notions that my dreams and goals are far-fetched and improbable try to invade my psyche, I right myself by remembering that my husband is from the other side of the world, and that we met on a cruise ship.  Talk about improbable!

When I started working with Princess Cruises, I was going through an ugly period in my life…I wasn’t working enough, I’d gone through a punishing break up with a boyfriend, and I was in debt.  This cruise ship job came to me through a friend that I’d done a recent gig with, and though it was the absolute last thing I’d ever wanted to do, I needed the work and the escape and I took it.

It has turned out to be the most prolific gift ever.  On the professional front, I’ve been able to sing and dance numbers that I wouldn’t have had the chance to do anywhere else…where else could I be Jessica Simpson, Tina Turner, Barbra Streisand, Sutton Foster, and Kelly Clarkson all rolled into one?

On the personal front, I’ve been able to see most of the world and meet people from all corners of the globe.  People who have enriched my life and whom I wouldn’t have met any other way.  I know first hand that we are all more alike than we are different.

On the life-changing front, I met my husband.  He was initially scheduled to be on a different ship, but ended up being assigned to the Emerald Princess.  I met him on his first day aboard, March 6, 2008.  He was jetlagged from a brutal 30 plus hours of travel, and these folks put him to work immediately!  I was tagging along with a friend to the boutique where he worked, and while he helped her, he told us about his crazy travel days—I remember being amazed that he was so friendly and open and funny after no real sleep and no time to settle in before being fast tracked to work.  The fact that he was hot wasn’t lost on me either.

We didn’t really see a whole lot of each other those first few weeks.  I began running into him in the crew bar, and we began having these really easy, fun conversations about our lives and experiences and found that we had a lot in common for people who had a hemisphere and a few years between them.

I remember the moment I knew that this was something…we’d started the evening in the crew bar, and we closed it out.  The lights came on, people stumbled out, and we were still talking and it didn’t feel right to stop.  He came to my cabin (calm down, people, this is G-rated) and we continued talking till daylight.  We actually pulled into the port and were anchored alongside the dock in Civitavecchia before we realized how long we’d been together.  When he left my cabin, he said ‘good night’ and kissed me on my cheek.  When I closed the door behind him, I leaned against it and I knew something really good had started.

And I still know.  He is my friend.  He is my partner.  He is a blessing and a power and I am so grateful for him.  We happened.  Everything is possible.

Happy Anniversary, Tony!  I love you madly!!

R

Leave a Reply

