In transit

I’m on US Airways 1486 winging my way from LA to NYC right now. And I’m trying very hard to squash my desire to strangle the guy sitting behind me.  He’s been doing that liquidy sounding sniffle that is a result of not using a tissue properly since we got off the ground 2 hours ago…BLOW YOUR NOSE ALREADY!!!!!

Ok.  That’s said.  Wait…he just blew his nose!

Silence.

Ah, sweet relief!!!

I’m returning to New York after a 6-week-turned-5-month absence.  I’ve been out on the Golden Princess doing a fill in contract since December 21, 2011.

It was a great opportunity to make some money and zero out the credit cards, so I’m grateful…but it wasn’t easy.  Being away from my husband was tough…I missed his birthday, Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Years, our 2 year anniversary and Valentines Day…and there were moments when we were both grumpy and just over not being together and that gave birth to some very silly squabbles.

The upside is that we’ve learned that we can do this…it’s not the ideal, and it’s not something I would recommend or want to go through again, but we can do it.  You do what you have to, right?  Yes.  You do what you need to do so you can do what you want to do.

I have an audition the day after I return, and I like that kind of reentry. I’m using it as an affirmation of my resolve to continue to walk boldly towards my dream of working in the city, which will grant me the enormous blessing of coming home to my husband every night…a husband who has found his own way in the city in my absence, who has a job that challenges him and brings him satisfaction and applauds his abilities and recognizes his value.

From Sea to Shining C(ity), folks!

Here’s to it!

 

R

Leave a Reply

