Romeo, Oh Romeo…wherefore art thou, Romeo?

I am enrolling in an acting class at HB studios, and it starts on Tuesday.  Here’s the course description:

 

Scene Study: The Heart of Acting:  In my 30-year

acting career, the challenge is now and forever: how can I be

a human being onstage and not an actor? Self-observation is

crucial since I am a human being off-stage. What do I do in

daily life…and then what do I do in crisis? How do I use my

experience? How can I go deeper? What’s in my way? Once

I’m connected, how do I go moment to moment? You will learn

how to put yourself into the shoes of the “character” using

your OWN life; your experience and your imagination, through

the use of applied technique. Monologues, contemporary

and classical scenes will be used as we rehearse in front of

one another. This class is for the intermediate to advanced

actor. Note: Students should bring a memorized 2–3 minute

contemporary monologue for the first class of the term.

 

I’m excited about the class…now that I’m staying put in the city (yay!) I can participate in a curriculum and I need that.  I haven’t performed the monologue I’ll be doing in nearly 10 years, and it will be interesting to see what I bring to it now. 

The first time I performed it was in my acting class in college.  I remember everything about that morning:  I had gotten in a HUGE fight with my younger sister that morning, and I remember feeling so angry, hurt and misunderstood.  I don’t remember what the fight was about, but I remember walking away from it wondering if my sister and I would ever have a relationship that we would both enjoy for any real period of time.  (Happy ending: we do and we have.  Time and distance after that episode helped us reconnect and become friends…she’s one of the most important people in my life today and has been for some time.)

That fight really informed my performance—I used it, and it was a breakthrough that had my class and acting teacher pummeling me with questions about how I made the choices I did from moment to moment in that speech.  I remember feeling so connected and so exposed at the same time, and to live that moment in front of spectators felt cathartic and empowering. 

I think my work will be to fully let that go, and let that monologue live where I am today.

Can’t wait. 

And yikes.

I’ll let you know how it goes.

 

R

Leave a Reply

