Thursday in New Haven…

If you saw my nails right now, you’d be pushing me out the door to the nearest salon.  Don’t worry…I have an appointment this afternoon so I won’t embarrass myself when I put them on display later tonight by wrapping them around a microphone.

Before I headed out the door today, I wanted to share this with you:

“Appreciate where you are now, and keep fighting for where you want to be.  You are not a failure until you give up on yourself.  Keep going!

Hard times may hold you down for awhile but they will not last forever, and when all is said and done, you will be able to stand even taller than those who didn’t earn it.

Seriously,  you may not be where you want to be yet, but look how far you’ve come.  Be thankful that you’re not where you used to be.  If you have no other testimony right now, you have this one: “I’m still here trying.”

YES.

Thank you, Marcandangel.

And thank you, Elaine Stritch.  When my husband and I saw her at Cafe Carlyle in New York, she was there trying valiantly and often failing to remember her lyrics…but she was up there.  She was doing it, regardless.  Completely exposed, in front of everybody.  And she didn’t let those brutal moments crush her. You can see her living those moments in a place where the stakes as a performer don’t get much higher…the White House.  And what is she singing?  “I’m Still Here”.  Yes, diva!!!

R

 

 

 

One response to “Thursday in New Haven…

  1. This was Wonderful, R!!! You GO gerrrrrrrrlll!!!! I miss you, and I’m committed to getting to New Haven to catch you ‘in the Act’!!!
    xoxxo
    T

Leave a Reply

